Tutorial

YouData is a platform for sharing files between people. The aim is to allow easy distribution and sharing of files over the internet.

YouData can be used without the need to log in, but several features such as creating projects and uploading files to a project require credentials. The credentials are the same as used with Korppi, so if you have them already you can just use the Korppi user name and password.

After you log in, you can create a new project.

Add files to your project

Once you have your project up, adding files is easy. Open your project and click the "Upload files"-button to open up a file selection dialog. Select one or more files you want to add to the project and finally click the "Start uploads"-button. All your files should be uploaded to the project and appear under the project datafiles.

Download files

Files can be downloaded in multiple ways. You can quickly download individual files by clicking the diskette icon next to a datafile. Alternatively you can download multiple files in a zip file by checking the boxes on the left of the datafiles and clicking "Download selected files"-button. Third alternative is to view the file's own page and click the download link in there.

Add and change information of files and projects

Project name can be changed from the project page by clicking on the project's current name in the upper left corner, with the darker background. This enters the edit mode, where you can input a new name for the project. Project description and visibility can be changed by accessing the project edit page with the "Edit project"-button on the sidebar on the right.

Datafile information can be changed by accessing the datafile page by clicking on the datafile's name on the project page. Similarly to the project name, datafile name can be changed from the upper left corner with clicking the editable darker region. Same way description and tags can be changed by clicking on the appropriate areas. Multiple tags can be entered by separating them with a comma (,).

It is also possible to move files between projects from the datafile page. On the Project-section of the datafile, it's possible to select another project which you have access to and click Change project-button to move the file in to another project.

Project categories

Project categories provide the users with a quick way to organize files inside a project. Create a new category by clicking the "Create a new category"-button and the new, empty category will appear on top of the page. You can edit the category's name same way as you would edit a project's name. The power of categories comes with moving files in to proper categories. Select some of the files in the project using the checkboxes next to the datafiles and press the "Move files here"-button found next to the category's name. This will add the files under the category. Similarly, you can remove files from the category by selecting them and pressing the "Remove files"-button. The "Edit category"-button is used to access the edit page for the category, where you can input the name and a description for the category. The last button, "Toggle", switches between hiding and showing the category information.

Project visibility

You can adjust the project visibility from the edit page as mentioned in the section about changing project information. There are three levels of visibility available for projects and these are reflected on the datafiles inside the project.

Projects can be Visible to everyone, meaning the contents of the project are public and anyone can browse and download them without logging in. Only authorized collaborators are allowed to upload files or modify information in the project so making your project public doesn't destroy any of your work. Visible to logged in users changes the viewing rights so that only people who have logged in can view the contents of the project and download files. Finally, Visible to project collaborators restricts the viewing and downloading only to specified collaborators and makes it possible to hide your project, giving access only to those people who you want to share your files with.

Project collaborators

You can add people as collaborators to a project by clicking the "Manage collaborators"-button on the sidebar on a project page. This page will list all the current collaborators along with their roles in the project.

To add new collaborators to the project, click the "Add new role"-link. This will allow you to specify a user name or a group id in to the box and select a role for them. Group ids are Korppi group ids, which you will need to access Korppi to find out the id to be added here.

There are three types of roles you can specify to users. Admin is responsible for managing the project's roles, deleting files and various smaller management tasks. Uploader is able to upload and add files to the project. Viewer is simply able to view the files and download them. The roles are hierarchical, so for example admins can also upload files. The owner role is special role with admin rights, which can not be removed.

Search files

Files can be searched by using the searchbar located on every page on the upper right area under the quick links. You can input full or partial name of a file, description or tag in to the field and press enter. You will be redirected to a page with search results matching your input to the search field.

Upload files anonymously

Files can be sent to users or projects anonymously by accessing the Upload page. You don't need to be logged in to upload files anonymously, but you will need to know the user name or the project name where you want to send your file. Enter the receiving party's name to the Receiver-field and select a file to send, then click the Send-button to complete the action. You should also add potentially useful information to the file: A descriptive name of the file, a description of the file and your own name.

Handling anonymously uploaded files

There are two types of anonymously uploaded files. First is the files sent to a user, which appear in the user inbox. User inbox can be accessed from the top of the page, where the number next to the Inbox-text tells the amount of files in the inbox. The other type of files are those uploaded to projects. You can view the project's anonymously uploaded files by accessing the project page and clicking the inbox button on the right in the sidebar.

In the inbox, you can quickly delete multiple files by selecting the checkbox associated with them and clicking the "Delete selected"-button. To accept the file in to a project, in case of a file sent to a user, choose a target project from the dropdown box and click "Accept file"-button to move the file to the specified project. Accepting project's anonymously uploaded file is simple, just click the "Accept file"-button and the file is automatically added to the project. You can also delete the file on this page in case you want to reject it, by clicking the "Delete file"-link.